Home > Architecture > About > Awards


Since its opening, sendai mediatheque has received a number of awards that include the following:

2001 Japan Construction Engineers' Association Award

Created in 1953 to acknowledge construction projects contributing to the development of construction engineering, JCEA Awards are given to organizations that conduct excellent construction projects. Each recipient is selected on the basis of outstanding performance in a project or policy, according to criteria for construction technique, public administration, stock operation and so on.

June, 2001
Architecture Section, Japan Construction Engineers' Association Award
Japan Construction Engineers' Association

2001 Good Design Gold Award

The Good Design Award has been a sole comprehensive design evaluation and commendation system in Japan since 1957. Many companies and designers from both inside and outside Japan participate in activities to enhance industry or quality of life through design. The "G Mark", as symbol of the award, is widely recognized as a mark representing good design.

November, 2001
2001 Good Design Gold Award
Japan Institute of Design Promotion

43rd BCS (Building Contractors' Society) Prize

The BCS Prize was created in 1960 to promote outstanding building assets while developing culture and protecting the global environment.
Outstanding buildings are selected based on evaluations of their project planning, design, construction and operation/maintenance of each building in its environment. The prize is given to clients, architects and contractors of the selected building.

July, 2002
The 43rd BCS Prize
Building Contractors' Society

World Architecture Awards 2002 Best Building in East Asia

July 2002

The 16th Tokyo Creation Award, Environmental Media Award

October, 2002
Japan Fashion Association

2003 Architectural Institute of Japan Prize in Architectural Design

The AIJ Prize was created to promote architectural culture in Japan, as well as academic, technical and artistic activities related to architecture, acknowledging outstanding accomplishments every year.

April, 2003
2003 AIJ Prize (Architectural Design)
Architectural Institute of Japan

The 10th Public Building Award (Cultural Institution Section), Awarded by the Ministry of Land, Infrastructure and Transportation

Recipients of the Public Building Award are selected from among buildings that are more than 3 years old, built by national/local governments or other public organizations. They are evaluated according to the following criteria.

Excellence in architectural planning, design and construction
Remarkable contribution to the community through high cultural value
Good building management and maintenance

Out of the recipients from across Japan, one building each for three sections –government building, cultural institution and everyday facility– is selected as the recipient of the award from the Ministry of Land, Infrastructure and Transportation.

October, 2006
Public Building Award
Public Buildings Association

2011 Regional Art-Activities Gold Prize (Prime Minister Prize)

The Regional Art-Activities Prize was created in 2004 to mark the 10th anniversary of the Japan Foundation for Regional Art-Activities. Its aim is to further vitalize public cultural institutions, contributing to the production of beautiful, enriching homes for everyone by acknowledging and promoting public cultural institutions remarkable for producing an environment for creative activities in local communities.

January 2011
Regional Art-Activities Gold Prize
Japan Foundation for Regional Art-Activities